New Freelanders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Herbs for medicine and cooking

+2
hawkiye
hopefulfilled
6 posters

Go down

Herbs for medicine and cooking Empty Herbs for medicine and cooking

Post by hopefulfilled Sun 04 May 2008, 9:07 pm

I studied Herbal medicine for 3 years in a course many years ago and have been studying it ever since, including botany for a total of 33 years. I am not certified so I cannot give medical advice, legally, although I suppose I could say what I have done for my self and my family or what I would do. Basically I am here to encourage you in what to pick and grow for your own families to help with medical needs. If I can help in any way, just ask. I grow and pick in the wild my own herbs, and buy just a few others, and make all of our own medicines.
First of all, as a basic advice, for people who are amateurs, if you stick to what is called only "tonic or alterative herbs" and aren't taking drugs, you won't have to worry about overdosing, or harming yourself. Tonic herbs are healing, but do not act like drugs. They usually are very nutritious too and many times will heal you just by the amount of vitamins, minerals and nutrients in them.
If you are just starting growing your own, I would suggest starting with mostly perennials, because they are harder to start and get going, and you won't have to plant them the second year, because they will still be growing, and you can start the annuals the second year. Herbs in general are very easy to grow, and thrive in poor soil generally. If you have fruit trees, plant them under them, as many of them will help the trees with pollination, attracting bugs, and keeping bugs off the fruit.
Buy a few books on herbs, so you can distinguish between the tonic herbs, and the more dangerous ones. (there are very few dangerous ones).