New Freelanders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Reinventing Collapse. Former Soviet Citizen See's Signs in America

Go down

Reinventing Collapse. Former Soviet Citizen See's Signs in America Empty Reinventing Collapse. Former Soviet Citizen See's Signs in America

Post by hawkiye Wed 28 May 2008, 6:57 pm

INTRODUCTION
Reinventing Collapse
by Dmitry Orlov

I am not an expert or a scholar or an activist. I am more of an eyewitness. I watched the Soviet Union collapse and this has given me the necessary insights to describe what the American collapse will look like. It has been a couple of years since I started writing on the subject of economic collapse as it occurred in the Soviet Union and as it is likely to occur here in the United States. Thus far, I remain reasonably content with my predictions: all the pieces of the collapse scenario I imagined are lining up, slowly but surely.

But for me it all started late in the summer of 1996, when I arrived in the US after an extended stay in Russia. I was just married and my thoughts turned to the future. I had visited Russia many times before, on family visits as well as on business trips, and was able to observe in detail the fall of Communism and the ensuing economic collapse. Unlike the people who had lived there throughout that period, and also unlike those who had visited just once or twice, I was able to notice both the gradual changes and the sudden ones. Because I was born and grew up in Russia, I was not thwarted by any cultural or linguistic barriers. It was just the place where I grew up, in some ways remarkably unchanged after more than a decade of absence, but in other ways it had undergone a remarkable transformation.