New Freelanders
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Learning it all...again

+2
greendragon
jenmckin
6 posters

Go down

Learning it all...again Empty Learning it all...again

Post by jenmckin Mon 05 May 2008, 8:42 am

This is my first year to have a garden. Let's just say that I have a black thumb (we are talking...I'm infamous for killing many a cactus okay?) I NEED warranties on my plants that I buy so that when they die (notice I didn't say "if") I can get them exchanged.

Well...with all that is going on in the world I decided to start a garden this year. For Ms. Blackthumb here that is a major undertaking. But I am happy to report that it is going very well!! Very Happy I have strawberries that are blooming and fruiting. My blackberry bush (that my lawn guy half cut down two weeks after I planted it) is blooming. My corn is about 4 inches high, my tomatoes are about a foot tall, my peppers are 6" high, my yellow onions are coming up, my squashes are squashing, my zucchini is coming up! I'm thrilled! I didn't kill anything shy of a few seedlings that I put outside too soon in a sprouting tray. I have spent many an hour on the internet learning about companion gardening (I am an organic snob Razz).

I am feeling so confident about my new found skills that I have purchased 25 chicks to be delivered in one week. We are keeping 13 for laying and butchering the rest. I am learning how to mix organic chicken feed of my own making (using whole grains and peas/beans) in the correct potein ratios for chicks, layers, and broilers.

I have learned so much about being self sufficient in the last few months, I feel like I'm on info overload.